skip navigation


By Nancy Lane, 02/14/23, 7:30PM CST


BVB International Academy is proud to announce the final selection for the BVB IA School of Excellence National Pools and Team Trip for 2023! After many months of hard work, competition, evaluations, and time dedicated to making themselves the very best player they can be, their hard work has been recognized through the selection process within the Talent ID program. These players began the selection process in the fall of 2022 culminating in being selected to participate in the National ID event in Dallas, Texas.

The School of Excellence is dedicated to identifying the highest level of talent within the BVB International Academy by the leadership of each of the 12 affiliate clubs as well as by current Borussia Dortmund Youth Academy and coaches. Throughout the process, the players are asked to compete within their age group for the opportunity to be selected for their regional pools. Once selected at the regional level, they then travel to compete for a national pool position. As the competition progresses, the talent pool is concentrated so that by the end, approximately 350 players come together to compete for the National Pool rosters. From the National Pool then 18 boys and 18 girls are selected as the School of Excellence 2023 Team.

This year, the School of Excellence (SOE) Trip for the boys consists of the 2007, 2008, 2009 age groups, and for the girls, players were selected from the 2004/2005, 2006 and 2007 age groups.

The School of Excellence was started in 2019 as a part of the real and authentic professional player pathway that BVB International Academy (BVBIA) provides for our players. Together with our College Athlete Placement (CAP) program, BVB IA offers players the full range of opportunities from the earliest ages of 4 years old as Mini Bees to the CAP Program and School of Excellence Program for the high school players. From attending college as a student-athlete to the opportunity to play professionally, both the boys and the girls programs offer the unique opportunities of being partnered with one of the very best professional European clubs in the world.

These 36 deserving players selected for the School of Excellence trip will experience first-hand the highest levels of competition and training while on their 7 day trip to Dortmund, Germany. They will train at the Youth Academy, compete against the academy / professional teams and have the opportunity to be a part of the professional European experience very few

players ever see. The players will also have an opportunity to encounter the culture, heritage and traditions of Borussia Dortmund and feel the heartbeat of the club as they traverse the city of Dortmund. These 36 players will attend a BVB game at their home field- Signal Iduna. Here on display is the authentic intensity and passion that is Borussia Dortmund.

We wish to congratulate all the players who were selected for the National Pools as well as for the 2023 SOE Trip Team. We are proud of all of our players, and join their teams, parents, families and friends with a hearty congratulations to each of them.

We believe that with the team trip opportunity also comes great responsibility for each of the 26 players who will train in Dortmund. We know that they will represent BVB International Academy with character and intensity throughout the trip.

Join us from March 12th through March 20th on Social media while we watch the trip and the opportunities unfold- @bvbiaa and @bvbiantx!

Boy's National pool

2012s 2011s 2010s
Xavi Lisek Nasir Yasin Jaxx Weinstein
Omarrio Kennoy Brown '13 Fynn Holloway Samuel Gonzalez
Valentin Vasquez Jaun Bluhn Matthew Rodriguez
Derek Mayorga Eli Egeonu Ryker Seekamp
Braylin Marin Adyen Anwar Gunner Smith
Samuel Block Gavin Turnage Cash Saylor
Liam McClean Aaron Johnson Kaiden Fadley
Roman Renud Gian Blanchard Jorge Ibarra
Mason Williams Mayon Beaty Fernando Portillo
Raad Safa Logan Schroeder Deacon Debois
Sami Safa Nate Hanks Parker Fitzgerald
Santiago Rodriguez Victor Acevedo-Kunz Sina Sepahi
Keane Hoffmann Preston Baucom
Jakub Urbanowicz Brian Corona
Moses Palaci Karol Mazur
Michael Ciezki Mason Hooper
Eli Mierzejewski Nolan Ptaszkiewiz
Alan Dybas Sam Shorkey
Eamon O'Connor Aiden Alexander
Luke Garven Bantam Davis
Leo Cook

Girl's National Pools

11/10s 09/08s
Nileyah Leyva '10 Gabriella Olivares '08
Riley Macfee '10 Grace Copeland '08
Alexis Amigon '10 Gianna Revetta '08
Harper Carnahan '10 Wesley Porter '08
Kaitlyn Williams '10 Georgia Theriot '08
Nevaeh Gradilla '10 Victoria Shipp '08
Avery Linstrom '10 Alyssa Valdez '08
Ryan Pitts '11 Maddy Hill '08
Ayla Jeff '11 Bailee Sisson '08
Ellie Lebe '10 Haylee Lancaster '08
Ali Joyce '10 Pricilla Garcia '08
Ellianna Arnold '10 Jillian Hernandez '08
Tori Yurt '10 Isabelle Alarcon '08
Ava Mack '10 Anna Li '08
Kassidi Johnson '09
Alexis Giles '09
Isabella Warren '09
Hazel Rutherford '09
Laylah Ruiz '09
Kiara Mendoza '09
Sydney Washington '09
Brooke McMurren '08

Girl's School of Excellence National Team

Player Birthyear
Yumari Hernadez 2007
Kayla Shaw 2004
Alyssa Ward 2006
Cassidy Guha 2005
Skylar Henley 2006
Courtlyn Cook 2006
Christina (Tina) Clark 2005
Shalagh Guha 2007
Ariella (Ella) Adams 2005
Tatum Self 2005
Hadley Carpenter 2005
Reagan Cox 2006
Angelina Rispone 2007
Taliah Pellizzari 2007
Ella Shorkey 2005
Gianna Harris 2007
Sophia Cabral 2006
Gracie Davis 2007


Player Birthyear
Elizabeth Meisner 2007
Sydney Ridnoir 2006
Arianna Borneo 2007
Kaitlyn Brady 2007
Kayla Martinez 2006
Valentina Navette 2006
Daniella Gardner 2005
Izzy Van Zanten 2005
Alicia McMurren 2005
Sadie Ozymy 2006
Sydanni Bauer 2007
Shonali Rao 2007


Player Birthyear
AJ Rosen 2007
Elijah Gradilla 2008
Zahni Dembrow 2007
Rashane Braidy 2008
Luca Fuerte 2008
Kasim Merchant 2008
Albert Calzada 2008
Josh Rojas 2007
Caiden Jurek 2007
Jeremiah Jones 2007
Aldair Flowers 2007
Julio Garcia 2009
Nias Blanton 2009
Talan Weston 2008
James Mastrangelo 2008
Michael Leibla-Gonzales 2008
Dominiq Garza 2007
Samuel Sedeh 2009

Boy's National Pool Players

Player Birthyear
Wyatt Scharff 2008
Jasper Piepergerdes 2008
Ian Lieb 2009
Aydan Fisher 2007
Dayton Tran 2009
Sulitan Surete 2008
Gilberto Villa 2008
Axel Alvarado 2009
Kaiden Helm 2009
Cort Laurence 2007
DJ Summons 2007
Tallyn Lord 2007